louiselux: (Default)


"...I think all my life I practiced with my high hundred percent of intensity in every ball in the practice... That's why I think today I am faster, no? Probably now I'm not practicing with the same intensity like when I was a kid. When I was a kid, I practiced, believe me, like crazy."

more pics )
louiselux: (Default)
I wrote fic! It seems like ages since I posted anything. Checking in the calender, it's actually been four months, although I've been writing on and off for most of that time. I need to finish more things, clearly.

Anyway, this is a little something I wrote with [livejournal.com profile] buckle_berry, just because we could. It's also posted at [livejournal.com profile] fedal_slash.

Title: Round of 16
Pairing: Roger/Rafa
Rating: NC 17
Warnings: PWP, infidelity
Summary: Roger and Rafa and illicit sex in the locker room.


Round of 16 )

AU Bingo

Jun. 30th, 2010 07:15 pm
louiselux: (Default)
Instead of moping about the tennis, I've decided to play with my [livejournal.com profile] au_bingo card:

AU bingos )
louiselux: (Default)
Rogelio is out of Wimbledon. I'm totally gutted.

*sadfaces*

http://www.nooooooooooooooo.com/
louiselux: (Default)
I just made myself a delicious iced latte. Here's my recipe:

1) Make a small cup of strong coffee - I used a cafetiere
2) Fill a tall glass 2/3 full of ice
3) Pour the coffee over the ice
4) Fill the glass with milk or soy/rice/other milk
5) Enjoy your nummy cool drink.

For fans of Uncle Toni Nadal - I found this book today )
louiselux: (Default)
I just had the most amazing week camping at Wimbledon with [livejournal.com profile] buckle_berry and [livejournal.com profile] tarteaucitron.

We Queued to the max and learned even more about the arcane practises involved in successful queueing! We saw Rafa and Roger and Mandy and Sue from the Queue! We saw Feliciano Lopez in Wimbledon village. He has arms! And he buys groceries from the artisanal grocers there. Berry commented that he looks a lot more manly in real life and I agree.

We "met" Uncle Toni in the street. He smiled at us as we stood aside to let him pass on a narrow bit of pavement. He's a lot taller and slimmer than he looks on tv. We properly met Mohamed Lahyani! In what has to be the coolest moment of my life to date I told him: "I love your umpiring." He actually looked genuinely delighted. He said 'Bien sur!' when we asked for our pictures with him and posed with each of us. [livejournal.com profile] buckle_berry has those on her camera because mine decided to die right at that point. However Lars Graff just gave me a steely stare when I locked eyes with him in the tunnels under Centre Court.

We saw Roger practising on court 14, entirely by accident and good luck. It was at about 10.30am on the Monday. He looked very relaxed. The little court was full of onlookers but the atmosphere was hushed and reverent like we were in church. Berry said it made her feel weird, and I agree. The hushed reverence lasted until he stopped and began to sign things and then it turned into an absolute scrum. He signed for about five minutes and then he was whisked away through the crush by a squad of security guards. I noticed that one woman had a self published book of photos of her and Roger together that he'd signed. She was so happy that she cried. I honestly don't know what to think about that except that it makes me think how strange this whole circus is, really, on some levels.

Through our queueing exploits we got Centre Court tickets for both Monday and Thursday, so we saw two amazing, epic matches: Roger v Alejandro Falla during which we wanted to die right up until the point Roger finally won, and then Rafa v Robin Haase where we actually never properly believed Rafa was in danger of losing but it was still really exciting. Plus multiple shirt changes. Rafa has muscles in his back that normal people just don't have. We also saw Mandy bowing to the Queen! [livejournal.com profile] matildafilch met up with us on Thursday too, although we weren't ale to hang out as much as last year as she had seats right up at the top. Apparently there is still a pretty decent view from there though. And we saw Lars Graff eating a sausage! He gave me a wide berth though.

I might've developed a small obsession with umpires this week. Carlos Ramos was in action during Rafa's match, but he mostly seemed to be winking and smiling at a cute linesman while sneaking looks at Rafa while he changed his shirts. We saw umpiring HBIC Pascal Maria several times. Did you know that he can hold three tennis balls in each hand? Cedric Mourier walked past us on the street so we 'met' him too. I saw Erich Molina hanging out near a lift. He is pretty in real life.

Other tennis: JJ v Laura Robson, Feli's first round match, Stan v Istomin, Novak v Olivier Rochus, which was great. They closed Centre Court roof halfway through and played that really interesting documentary about how it was built, and the crowd got silly and did Mexican waves. We didn't see any of Jisner v Mahut as they played the LMOAT (longest match of all time) but I saw the adorable net hugs.

I have a ton of pics of everything! Wimbledon 2010 )
louiselux: (Default)
I got Vilnius postcards from [livejournal.com profile] daegaer and [livejournal.com profile] new_kate and [livejournal.com profile] puddingcat - thanks! Both of them feature a trio of creepy ladies that seem to loom over the town... Sculptures of the Lithuanian National Drama Theatre! I found the exact postcard online, here.

Vilnius sounds amazing. Waaaaant.

In other news, I'm desperately trying to pack a light capsule wardrobe that will take me through five days of potential rain, wind and searing heat. I have so far: two pairs of leggings, three tops and a dress but now I'm stuck on outerwear and shoes v sandals.

Wimbledon

Jun. 18th, 2010 03:42 pm
louiselux: (Default)
I'm off to Wimbledon on Sunday in the company of the delightful [livejournal.com profile] buckle_berry. We're going to rejoin The Queue, taking up where we left off last year. It shouldn't be too hard. Once you've been in it, you never really leave The Queue.

So, we're going to be there for Monday at least and probably later on in the week also, because I think we're going to try and get Centre Court tickets. If anyone would like to meet up with us let me know and we can make plans. "Plans" will probably include drinking Pimms and ogling hot sweaty tennis mens. Yay!
louiselux: (Default)
If anyone is interested [livejournal.com profile] morebliss syndicated my tumblr for lj: Swiss Navy! Except she called it 'Lounicorn' for reasons best known to herself. <3

If you're wondering, I update it with about three or four new pictures or quotes a day, and obvsly it's mostly about Rafa and Roger. But sometimes it has fluffy animals too!
louiselux: (Default)
I've been posting these over on my tennis obsession tumblr, Swiss Navy, but [livejournal.com profile] morebliss thoughfully pointed out that means she doesn't get to see them on lj.

This about about two weeks worth of pics, with my random little comments added in. :D

Lots of Roger and Rafa and other random tennistas under here )
louiselux: (Default)
Rafa won, making history and breaking records everywhere and generally being wonderful. He's amazing. It was a funny old match though. I was torn between wanting them both to win, so I was really sorry for Rog at the end.

It was very clear they were both very keyed up about playing each other again, and that was very thrilling to see! The tennis was sometimes brilliant and sometimes really not brilliant at all. I haven't got a whole lot else to say about it at the moment, except that I love this comment from Rafa:

"At times we did play well but I think we know each other so much that we are only focusing on how to make each other play worse."

Roger sat firmly in his chair during Rafa's pre match routine. Rafa sneaked glances at him and didn't get up, twitching his towel over his knees. Roger just kept on sitting there-- I'm not even sure what he was doing. This sitting down stalemate went on for ages until I seriously thought the umpire would have to do more than politely clear his throat at them.

On the podium afterwards, Rafa told Roger: 'You're amazing.'

Ion Tiriac gave a very boring speech. The stage wasn't big enough for everyone crammed on it, so Rafa and Roger were crammed up on one side looking like awkward school kids in assembly, with Roger's left foot actually half hanging off the edge of the platform.

They both looked really pretty. They were awarded identical matching silver tea tray awards.

Rafa lay face down on the court and kissed it at the end of the match. I think this is one of my single favourite moments.

Roger missed the ball with his racquet on match point, about which I'm still having massive contact embarrassment.

The stadium sound people played 'Simply the Best' by Tina Turner for Rafa at the end. Oh, lol.

Now, some pictures )
louiselux: (Default)
I'm so excited! Rafa and Roger are going to play each other in about an hour for the first time in a whole YEAR.

Actually, I can't believe a whole year has gone by since that match in Madrid, where they picked glitter from each other's hair at the end. Looking back, it seems to have gone at lightspeed.

But omg yay! Actual Fedal tennis again. I'm almost sweaty palms levels of excited but I don't even care who wins, not really, as long as there are hugs and kisses at the end they play a good match.




Aww.
louiselux: (Default)
I really don't want to be slashing David Cameron and Nick Clegg, but Radio 4 is making it hard for me with all its talk of private meetings and Nick Clegg having a lot to swallow.

No, brain, nooo!

The tennis

May. 8th, 2010 05:45 pm
louiselux: (Default)
I swear watching tennis is actively bad for my blood pressure. Roger has just managed to get himself broken twice in the first set by bloody Albert Montanes. Christ. WHY ROGER WHY.

ETA: Roger broke back, then got broken again in the next game. Omg, appalling.

Friday

May. 7th, 2010 04:03 pm
louiselux: (Default)
Every time I click on to the tennis this afternoon see what's happening it stimulates some variation on the cry: 'Oh for fuck's sake!' Roger has managed to finally win the first set against Arnaud Clement though.

That, combined with Gardener's Question Time, managed to temporarily make me forget about the general election - amazing.

Anyway, it's Friday, not that it makes a ton of difference to my life except as a license to eat pizza. Have some pictures of Rafa looking adorable and of Roger's magnificent curls. Because they're worth it!

imagery )
louiselux: (Default)
It's General Election day, just in case anyone in the UK has been living in a remote cave for the past month and might not have noticed. I feel kind of excited, but mostly in a nervous way. Mainly I'm dreading the ascent of Sharkface Cameron to power and that the BNP get more seats. I've decided who I'm voting for; after a lot of thought I've decided to vote tactically.

Just... please let it not be the tories tomorrow.

In other news, I've had three driving lessons now. I don't know if it's me or the way my instructor teaches or a combination, but I'm finding them massively stressful to the extent where I think about them for days ahead, fretting. He did say 'a lot of my pupils find the lessons stressful at first.' I think because he goes through the curriculum quite quickly so the learner knows how to do everything, just not how to do it well. Next week I'm supposed to spend the full two hours driving, and I have to drive us back to my house along actual busy roads. Terrifying! Mr Lux says I should try to see it as 'exciting' instead. I will try.

In work news, the empire of bags is going reasonably well. It's been slightly quieter on the retail front but apparently that's normal for April, May and June. Or is it March, April and May? I can't remember. But one thing that has happened is that Vogue Brides Spain contacted me to ask if they could have a high res picture of my Shakespearean garland as they want to feature it in their next issue. I'm not sure this isn't some sort of elaborate joke, and also it seems a bit late if it's the summer edition. But maybe they needed some quick filling in things for a handmade feature. The woman who contacted me seems genuine, with a proper email and everything. So, yay! But I'll wait and see if it actually happens.
louiselux: (Default)
I made bircher muesli yoghurt this morning. Omg, divine! My tummy likes it.

I used a cup of oats, soaked them in a small amount of milk for an hour, then added a few dollops of strawberry yoghurt until it seemed a good texture. Gordon Ramsey has a fancier version where you soak the oats in apple juice and a bit of lemon for increased tarteness, here. Sophie Dahl's recipe looks a bit too lemony for me, and it requires stirring with a wooden spoon.

Tennis eye

Apr. 12th, 2010 06:51 pm
louiselux: (Default)
We went to play tennis today and I managed to hit myself in the eye with a tennis ball, trying to be clever. It hurt quite a lot as you can imagine. Ow.

Sunday

Apr. 11th, 2010 09:25 pm
louiselux: (Default)
Two things about today:

Thing one: just bought a new (to us) flat screen Sony Bravia from ebay. I'm still not used to making such grown up purchases, even though I'm of the sort of age where this should not feel like a big deal. Our TV at home decided to go purple and green for a day or so. No one knows why, so it's probably time to get a new (but not that new) one.

Thing two - booked my first ever (official) driving lessons, so another grown up thing happening right on the heels of the previous one. I start in a week. I've gone from being actively afraid of driving to not even wanting to wait a week to start. The brain is an odd thing.

Linky links

Apr. 9th, 2010 04:48 pm
louiselux: (Default)
Things following angry cats

In 2005 Dr Daina Taimina decided to knit some maths to work out if it could be represented in three dimensions, and discovered that she'd knitted the forms of coral, thus melding together knitting, maths and marine biology. Amazing! This is my 'I don't really get this' explanation, but it's really a wonderful thing: The Hyperbolic Coral Reef

And I might've bought my mum some 'knit your own coral reef' crochet patterns.

I've been working on bags all day. Delicious coffee drinks are calling me from town, so that's where I'm going now. Then writing.
louiselux: (Default)
This post will jump around a bit because it's been nearly a month since I last posted - it feels like great eons. I've mostly been working on the empire of bags-- working endlessly it seems-- and watching the tennis taking place firstly in the California desert and then in Miami (where [livejournal.com profile] emungere has been, seeing live Fedal. Well, nearly.)

We also had a trip down to Brighton for my friends' civil partnership ceremony, which was great and included people singing Jaques Brel at the reception! While he might not write the cheeriest songs, they do pack a certain punch when bellowed from the stage of a small bar. There were also some of the best chocolate brownies I've ever tasted - so sticky that it seemed like they'd bee dipped in molasses. Diversions included Victorian parlour games and a fake seance that mostly seemed to involve chanting 'oogabooga!' The World Horror Convention was taking place at the same time, with Neil Gaiman as surprise guest I later discovered! But neither of us felt justified in shelling out all that cash for tickets so we didn't go.

I wore an gorgeous dress that I got from ebay - it's a copy of a copy of a 1950s design from Vivien of Holloway. I have all consuming lust for all their dresses.

The day after, I took my bags and things down to the Oxford Literary Festival craft market. It was a bit of an odd do, not very well advertised and some seriously grumpy sellers... but I didn't care because my stuff sold really well! We spent a lot of time sitting in deckchairs at our stall trying to recognise the famous authors. I think I saw Germaine Greer and someone else who we were sure was on the Late Review. Strangely, famous authors are not as easy to recognise as you'd think.
-
I'm still writing my [livejournal.com profile] help_haiti story. I'm so sorry, [livejournal.com profile] amai_kaminari and [livejournal.com profile] lechymonk. I'm usually pretty good at getting things done for deadlines and I can't remember ever being this tardy with a fic. It's taken a while to get my head around writing Hakkai and Gojyo again, and figuring out what I wanted to say about them. They didn't want to comply for a long time, and were recalcitrant, and I've been forced to begin the story by pretending it's not a story at all, just a description of them waking up, brushing their teeth, having breakfast, going shopping. Along the way, I have sneaked in some plot and it seems to have worked. I'll be in touch soon with the finished story.

[livejournal.com profile] scribblemoose, it was really good to chat with you the other night, and I'm glad we did. *hugs*

I tried to tidy up my flist the other day, mostly removing people who don't post anymore, or who post in a language I can't read. If someone is surprised I've defriended them it's almost definitely because I made a mistake with my ticky boxes, so please let me know if that's the case.

I liked the new Dr Who a lot - I thought I'd really not enjoy Matt Smith's performance, based on the things my inner curmudgeon was saying but I really enjoyed it. Take that inner curmudgeon!

Oh the tennis. They are still so pretty, rich and super fit and kind of gay. The clay season is getting underway on Monday in Monte Carlo so I'm going to upping my posting levels to celebrate sweaty dudes covered in crushed brick dust. [livejournal.com profile] buckle_berry and I have been arranging our Wimbers trip, which has cheered me up hugely, and hopefully [livejournal.com profile] niennah will be coming down too.

[livejournal.com profile] the_moonmoth left a comment on a story I wrote in 2003. I looked at the date and felt strange. Seven rich and busy years of fandoms and writing have gone by since then, but I still remember Good Omens fandom with great fondness. It was where I met [livejournal.com profile] daegaer, after all. Although, [livejournal.com profile] the_moonmoth I, um, just deleted your comment by accident while futzing around in my inbox. /o\ Sorry.

Finally, there are tadpoles! One week old and creepy as hell.

writhing tadpoles )
louiselux: (Default)
Happy birthday, [livejournal.com profile] emungere! You are a wonder! Here's a mini Roger picspam in honour of your awesomeness:

Grim Reaper!Roger is coming to trim your grasses )

Scandalous

Mar. 5th, 2010 09:16 pm
louiselux: (Default)
A man known as a 'Gentleman to the Pope' is embroiled in a gay prostitution scandal in the Vatican. He had sex with a rugby player and a male model. I wonder if it's in any way linked to the calendar of sexy Vatican priests?

Oh I hope so.
louiselux: (Default)
Oh, so we saw Sherlock Holmes on Sunday night and I was made properly happy by it. Holmes is exactly mad enough - just the sort of person who you can imagine beating corpses with sticks to determine bruising patterns. Watson is dashing and surly and handsome, Irene Adler dresses up as a boy, randomly. Plus it had Mark Strong. Plus it was not ruined by Guy Ritchie's direction.

So today I made a Sherlock Holmes saucy bohemian ring! The quote is from The Adventure of the Dying Detective where Holmes anoints himself with vaseline and rouge in an attempt to seduce Watson make it appear as if he's dying in order to entrap a villain.

With vaseline upon one's forehead )
louiselux: (Default)
Gah, it's one of those days where I just feel like I'm dropping, breaking, trampling and otherwise ruining everything in the house in a mad rush to get everything done on time. Last week I swallowed the end of a needle - that's okay, right? It was only a tiny short bit.

[livejournal.com profile] daegaer, [Unknown site tag][livejournal.com profile] new_kate and [livejournal.com profile] tarteaucitron came over at the weekend for my birthday party. We lounged around, drank wine, made cakes and watched ice skating and 'The Saint'.  They make the most wonderful houseguests, let me add. Come back! Never leave!  

I sent out invites labelling my party a 'cake and fizz' one. Good move, because guess what everyone bought me? Yeah! It was a totally rockin' night. I remember some really bad singing towards the end of the night, so I'm very sorry to anyone who had to listen.

Here's that food meme, via [livejournal.com profile] telophase

1) Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.
2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.
3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.
4) Optional extra: Post a comment here at www.verygoodtaste.co.uk linking to your results.

what i ate )

Profile

louiselux: (Default)
louiselux

June 2019

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9 101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags