Sunday

Sep. 8th, 2013 09:40 pm
louiselux: (hellbeasts)
It's cold and I'm tired. Today's decorating included a lot of painting over mysterious stains, stripping wallpaper and then reapplying new wallpaper. It all looks really good but now I feel like I did too much. Mr Lux did emergency cementing when a massive chunk of plaster fell off the wall, followed by half a brick! Then he did some emergency plumbing on a leak in the shower pump. By that point it was 6 o clock so we gave in and tidied up.

We didn't even have the emotional fibre to organise poached eggs on toast for tea, so we got chips. With fishcakes! They tasted exactly the same as the chip shop fishcakes I used to eat three decades ago. Maybe they are the same ones.

Now I'm half watching Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. I can't hear John Hurt these days without thinking that Kilgarrah is emoting at Merlin. Although in TTSS he really sounds like a cross between Kilgarrah and Quentin Crisp. We were going to watch the first of season two of Homeland, but I can't brain that much at the moment.
louiselux: (Default)
I pushed on with the decorating this afternoon. The bathroom now has only one blue wall, and some holes that need filling and painting. So, out of the six rooms in the house, I have now painted three of them. That doesn't include the downstairs hall, which I've also painted. The stairwell is next, but that's a different magnitude because it needs the wallpaper stripping off and then it has to be repapered, including the ceiling. That's right, sounds like a nightmare!

Ion, I have carried on writing every day this week, which is making me happy. I've created a routine, so that I have time to do it after work, which at the moment means I spend an hour or two anywhere between 4pm to 7pm. We also mostly sorted out the breakfast room (it is really a dining room/library but the mr named it the breakfast room and it stuck), and it's a really pleasant and peaceful room to write it.

The Sworn Virgins of Albania
louiselux: (hellbeasts)
Mads Mikkelsen's mouth is one of those genuine bee-stung mouths - slightly too pouty and sensual, and it draws the eye in an otherwise rather harsh face. And that is perfect for Hannibal, because his mouth is where the crimes happen.

I really need a Hannibal icon.

Talking of kitchens, we are getting a new one. The current one suffered from mildew because the previous owner didn't care about fixing the guttering, and even though it's all be cleaned and bleached, that mildew smell just lingers and its horrible. I priced up what we'd need today: cupboards, doors, wall tiles, work tops and miscellaneous kitchen parts. We have a local reputable building dude who can come and do it. So I think that's going to happen in the next month or two. We're going to attempt to paint the tile floor because we decided that trying to get the current ceramic tiles up would be a nightmare and expensive.

Talking of the white noise in cafes yesterday, when I'm at home and I want an ambient noise that's not radio 4 (which is fairly often these days) I like to listen to 10 hours of rain
louiselux: (Default)
I woke up at 5am this morning and didn't manage to get back to sleep. I don't like it when that happens. I lay iin bed fretting over incredibly boring things such as the boiler timer being set wrong. Then I got up, but I did manage to start work at about half seven, so I got a lot done. Tiredly. At four I took my laptop to the cafe to do some writing. I've been doing it quite often this past couple of weeks. I like the cafe because it has a pleasing background drone of chatter that somehow helps me concentrate.

Here's a picture of me versus the decorating. That is the remaining blue wall, but unfortunately it needs some work doing before I can slap paint on, as the paint has bubbled off the wall when the wall got damp. I'm planning to tackle it this weekend. I know that blue looks quite pretty, but trust me, not when it's the main colour in a ginormous bathroom.

the blue the blue! )

Here are a couple of Hannibal fics I have enjoyed:

The Borderland State by Nekomuse, Will/Hannibal, Mature, warnings for psychological horror and numerous other things

This is set once Hannibal has been eventually captured, three years in the future. He escapes and comes after Will. It's probably the fic I have enjoyed most, because of the building of UST between Hannibal and Will, even if it is the wrongest UST in the world. I also enjoyed the ensemble POVs.


Mauling by Croik, Gen

Will and Hannibal have a conversation that was missing from the show.

Summary: "I'm beginning to wonder if 'empathy' is the right word for your gift after all," says Hannibal one evening as the rain pours outside.
louiselux: (Roger facepalm)
Roger lost to Tommy Robredo! In straight sets. That was the last thing I expected, seeing as how I was expecting him to painfully and frustratingly lose to Rafa yet again in the quarterfinals.

My default setting is that Roger should win everything, so this year has been sucktackular as a fan, and it doesn't look like it's going to get any better any time soon. His back has been a chronic problem for years, so maybe it's causing this downward slide? Roger never really talks about it in detail though, so it's hard to know.

A depressing quote from his presser about the match: "I just couldn't do it."

Sunday

Sep. 2nd, 2013 12:27 am
louiselux: (Default)
I'm laaate.

Today I painted half the bathroom white, and it was utterly exhausting. It was a deep blue, and when I looked in the mirror all the blue reflected onto my face and gave me the skin tone of the Undead. The blue was a total bitch to cover. I think four coats has done it though, but our bathroom is so bizarrely enormous that I still have an ocean of bloody blue paint still to cover.

Bonus DIY: I was very clever and broke the glass on the bathroom cabinet while trying to sand it, and had to go and fetch a new one.

Saturdays

Aug. 31st, 2013 11:04 pm
louiselux: (Default)
This tumblr posts only one thing - literally the same picture of High Dancy every day. It is a good picture though.

Yesterday [personal profile] tarteaucitron visited me. I took her to the local pool for a swim, and we did quite well - at least 20 lengths. Then we came home and cracked open the cava, and I coached her through a lot of Hannibal. She did really well, only having to hide behind a cushion at the most gory places. Counting last night and this afternoon, eight episodes. A lot.

Plus we fitted in a few Game of Thrones and a very late night episode two of the Great British Bake Off. The breadstick technical challenge has actually inspired me to try making some at some point. They look tasty. I used to make bread quite often, although I haven't made any since we moved here.

Ion I am still stupidly pleased that I actually finished and posted a fic this week, and I can feel vaguely involved in and contribute to a fandom again. It's good!
louiselux: (Default)
You guys, I looked at my archive and realised that the last time I posted a fanfic was February 2010. I have written things over the last few years (and not finished them), but nothing has caught my attention since then like Hannibal. It just had to be serial killers, didn't it?


Fandom: Hannibal
Title: Mangata
Pairing: Will/Hannibal
Rating: explicit
Notes: MÃ¥ngata: (Swedish) the roadlike reflection of the moon on the water. Thank you to that crazy kid [personal profile] emungere for the beta.

Summary: After the fight with Tobias Budge, Will takes Hannibal home. Takes place between episodes 8 and 9.
louiselux: (Default)
Okay, so I'm going to do this thing. The thing being the 30 day festival of non stop posting meme that I have seen happening on my flist. I like reading your posts. I like it when lj is not 70% a barren wasteland! Also, the perma-moan that is Tumblr being so clunky for having conversations on.

I had Unexpected Reading Festival last weekend, when [personal profile] new_kate arrived without the man, so I was able to use his ticket. Because I am middle aged now, I hadn't heard of anyone on the Friday night lineup apart from Green Day, but we had a great time! We had fun spotting legitmately middle aged people among the threshing sea of teenagers. I got my picture taken with Batman. We had a disaster at the female urinals, where you're given a flimsy cone that allows you to pee standing up. First I had perfomance anxiety and couldn't go. Then when I got over that... I'd drunk quite a lot of beer and it all went wrong. *Draws a veil*

Kate fell in love with an ephemerally beautiful youth who had a large tattoo on his back that showed the Hulk with chained Wolverine crouching shirtless at his knees. It was an interesting concept! Then I made her watch 5 episodes of Hannibal.

On Sunday I went up to see my Dad and spent the bank holiday gardening. The weather was beautiful - sunny but breezy with fluffly clouds. I harvested pink fur apple potatoes and planted curly kale and celeriac and carrots for the winter. It's a bit late to be sowing them really but we thought we'd give them a go. I'm not sure what to do with the potatoes beyond potato salad, but potato salad = yum so it's not really a problem.

Ion I'm thinking of reviving my fanfic recs, because I've been reading so much and tend to just lose all the good stuff.

Tuesday

May. 14th, 2013 01:16 pm
louiselux: (Default)
Moving news: we have moved! We're still in the 'one room is full of unpacked boxes' stage, but it's been four weeks now and we are mostly functional. It still feels quite strange to be in this house, but I love it.

We have a three page list of things we need/want to do to the house (shelves feature heavily), but we've started off by fixing a couple of ongoing damp problems and some basic decorating and cleaning, and that all feels like a big achievement. I got my workshop up and running in the first few days, although I still haven't had time to properly organise everything in there. That might take a while. Stuff is, as ever, everywhere.

I'd forgotten how draning moving is, like using up a month's worth of energy in a couple of days. But it's actually been good for me, because I fall asleep at midnight instead of lying awake until three am, which was the habit I'd got into since my mum died. I've been thinking also how to remember her in this house, and I've decided to spend the bit of money she left me on a stained glass panel for the transom window above the door. She loved stained glass (and all things shiny, really). I've seen some beautiful work recently by this artist.

So anyway, the siren call of fixing and painting things is just too strong to resist, so I'm going to capitalise on my early enthusiam to get it done, because who knows how motivated I'll be a year down the line? We're going on holiday to Greece for two weeks in June, so we'lll be forced to do nothing then. Also I obviously need to factor in enough time spent slorming on the couch watching tv and staring at the internet, as is my wont.
louiselux: (Default)
The last day. What a slog! But by tonight I had got the uploading and making posts down to a fine art. I hope people have found it interesting - it's been good to do, and I gave it a lot more thought than I thought I would.

Sunday )
louiselux: (Default)
I conked out on the sofa again last night so didn't post anything, so here are Friday and Saturday:

Friday )


Beware [profile] matildafilch, there is my face below the cut. Not a very big face though, if that helps. Saturday )
louiselux: (Default)
It got late too quickly yesterday and I had to slope off to bed instead of posting, so here's two days worth of pics.

Wednesday )

Thursday )
louiselux: (Default)
Happy birthday to the awesomeness that is [personal profile] emungere! I hope you are having a wondrous day! ♥♥♥
louiselux: (Default)
This entry is a bit late as I had an unexpected after dinner nap. Also, arachnaphobes please beware - there is an eight legged critter in the middle of this post.

Tuesday )

Hello World

Mar. 4th, 2013 01:12 am
louiselux: (Default)
Happy (late) birthday to [personal profile] puddingcat! I hope you had a goodie ♥

~~

Ion, I was a bit surprised to see that I haven't posted anything since mid- November. Life has been something of a long dark tunnel over the winter. The combination of grief, cold dark weather, and a series of irritating colds and sinus infections (one if which is still lingering and giving me a bit of trouble with tooth pain) has left me feeling like a mouse hiding in a hole. I've been going up to visit my family menfolk reguarly, and we've been doing a lot of gardening and having bonfires together, so that has helped.

There is news on the house moving front. We still haven't moved! Not the best news, I know. But, our vendor has told us she still wants to go ahead, so it could be worse. My new hobby is harrassing the solicitors and the estate agents and we hope to at last exchange contracts in about a week.

I bought a guitar. I'm not sure about where I'm going with it but I'm really enjoying my lessons. [personal profile] tarteaucitron bought me the Justin Sandercoe book, which I would totally recommend for complete beginners. It offers lots of small stages of achievement, so I feel like I'm actually getting somewhere. My fingertips have gone leathery! I am competent on six chords and my ability to sing an actual tune is improving (my voice is a weak instrument).

For my birthday in Feb, [profile] buckle_berryy and [personal profile] tarteaucitron bought me a ticket to see the all male Twelfth Night, with Mark Rylance as Olivia and Stephen Fry as Malvolio. Hands down, it was the most joyous night in the theatre I have ever had. So good we went twice And we went to the stagedoor both times! So that makes Mark Rylance basically my boyfriend. I have not really got words for how much I enjoyed it, but it illuminated my entire life for weeks.

Anyway, starting tomorrow I'm going to do that week in the life project that [profile] matildafilch as just done. Because I loved seeing random pictured of her week! You basically post pictures of your day for a whole week. Seeing as how I post about once every three months at the moment, this should get me a bit more motivated.

Wednesday

Sep. 11th, 2012 12:49 pm
louiselux: (Default)
I went swimming last night so had to put my contact lenses in instead of wearing my glasses. I put them in the wrong eyes, so I had to take them out and clean them and then put them in the right way round. This is quite common for me. Except that I put one back in and then promptly dropped the other.

When I found it, I cleaned it and put it in the same eye as the one already in, so I had two in one eye. I have never done this before and and spent 30 seconds being *really* confused. I took them out again, cleaned them... and then put them in the wrong way round again. Eye fail.

Mr Lux, watching keenly: "That was like the world's most boring invisible slapstick."

Ion, I read Dust and Shadow by Lyndsay Faye, a pro Sherlock Holmes novel. I was initially dubious about it because it's about Jack the Ripper but actually it was very well done, and she has an ACD pastiche writing style that is flowing and enjoyable. It's quite subtly slashy too - it's like she has put in another layer of emo, which has that sort of dog whistle effect on slashers.

I've been quietly watching the tennis pretty much constantly all year, and even though Roger and Rafa both have had amazing wins, it's been Mandy self actualising at the US Open that has been the best moment for me. The Olympic Gold was special, but he just needed to win a slam so much, and the match a difficult one where he could actually have lost if he hadn't been so tenacious. It was a similar feeling for me as watching Roger win the French Open, although with less shrieking and crying (best tennis reaction video ever). Well done, Mandy. Plus he let his hair grow into an epic ginger birds nest in front of millions, and that takes balls.
louiselux: (Default)
to lovely [personal profile] daegaer! I hope you've had a super fabulous day of funtimes!

Tuesday

Jul. 31st, 2012 06:37 pm
louiselux: (Default)
I have two invites for Glitch if anyone wants them. Let me explain: it's this massive timesuck of an online game where you can create a character and then you make them wander about in a complex world where they can harvest resources and then make tools, and then make things.

Also there are piggies, ghosts, butterflies and giants. Plus you have your own little house. I'm level 38 you guys, send help.

Monday

Apr. 9th, 2012 10:06 pm
louiselux: (Default)
I just tried to access my old recs journal ([profile] miladysboudoir) because I have about a billion things I want to rec, but I've forgotten the password. Foiled! I tried so many times that I was temporarily banned. The email I used for that account is long dead (I haven't used it since 2005) so I've flung myself into the arms of lj support. Hmmm yes. I'll let you know how that goes.

I keep meaning to update about the Rebel Fitness programme I'm doing, as I'm sure you are all aching to know how I'm getting on. Suffice to say it's got a lot harder as I've moved up a level from rookie to recruit. Also, I bought a machine to exercise on! It's a cross trainer and I keep it in the spare room. Can I just say how much I love being able to merely climb the stairs to my tiny palace of exercise rather than going to the gym and doing it in public.

I saw [personal profile] tarteaucitron, [profile] buckle_berry a couple of weeks ago and we went to see Queen Christina, a film about a woman who doesn't want the life she's born to, both as a woman and queen of Sweden. I've never actually watched a Greta Garbo film before. She was astoundingly charismatic and attractive, despite the bizarre 1930s eyebrows, and it made me want Queen Christina fic quite badly.

The real Queen Christina ran away from Sweden and became a cross-dressing patron of the arts in Europe, and was finally buried in the Vatican. She also inadvertently caused the death of Descartes; he arrived in Sweden to instruct her and, due to living in an icy castle and having to get up at 5am every day to give her lessons (the only time she had to spare), developed pneumonia and died after ten days. Apparently she was distraught with guilt but carried on inviting the greatest minds of Europe to her death-trap.

I also went up to Manchester to see [personal profile] new_kate, where she lives in the middle of all the hipsters ever. We did a lot, mostly involving tea and cake, and a lot of hipsters.

some pics )
louiselux: (Default)
to the forever inspiring [personal profile] emungere! I hope there are cakes and fancy coffee drinks and Sergeant Hathaways in your immediate vicinity.
louiselux: (Default)
to [personal profile] tarteaucitron! You are fab. That is all.

Oh, except I wish I had a picspam for you of Tom Hiddleston cross-dressing in armour while singing opera to you, but I don't so you'll just have to imagine that.

Wednesday

Feb. 8th, 2012 04:39 pm
louiselux: (Default)
It's my birthday today. I just had some delicious key lime pie!

I'm on week two of the Rebel Fitness training thing. The first week was hard - I ached all over for days, especially my thighs from the squats. This second week is a bit easier and I'm not so stiff, but I did some yoga on Sunday and I think that helped a lot. I've managed two separate half hours of other exercise on the off days, but that was because I had to cycle to the Royal Mail sorting office twice.

I keep thinking while doing them that the exercises should be more of a challenge, but by the time I've finished I don't think that at all. But it's still hard not to push myself to do more that I can. Cunningly, the exercises have built in rests of 90 seconds between reps to stop people doing exactly that.

In other news, Thor! I watched it a couple of weeks ago with [personal profile] tarteaucitron and sadly remembered nothing apart from the vitally important fact of how hot Loki is and how much he loves Thor. I might've been a bit tipsy. I watched it again this week and it's actually quite good! Plus I have a medium-to-large crush on Tom Hiddleston now.
louiselux: (Default)
I cancelled my gym membership last week, partly because the guilt of not going was a swirling vortex in my soul. I was feeling so bad about not going that it was stopping me doing any other exercise, because I knew I shouldn't be wasting my gym membership by doing things that are free. Brains are very strange things, seriously.

I signed up for the Rebel Fitness Guide instead. It cost a tiny fraction of the gym membership and for the money I got six months worth of exercise plans, with exercise guides for everything on Youtube so I don't bork myself doing it wrong, but most moves are actually pretty simple. I've had to buy some more dumbbells and a set of resistance bands. In the later stages I'm going to need a pull up bar (D:) but they seem to be pretty cheap, so.

moar about it )

Profile

louiselux: (Default)
louiselux

June 2019

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9 101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags